Technical Committee

Function of the Technical Committe

The Technical Committee is the representative body of members responsible for providing balanced stakeholder oversight of matters relating to the integrity and quality control of the AWS system. Specifically, it is responsible for reviewing and making decisions on matters relating to AWS Standard(s), guidance material, and assurance processes. With regards to the development or revision of AWS standard(s), guidance, and assurance requirements and other related documents (normative and non-normative).

The committee is also the primary body responsible for resolution of disputes within the water stewardship system and must ensure a dispute resolution process is in place, effective, and operational. Please use the link on the right to access the AWS Comments, Complaints and Appeals procedure.

The Committee is intended to reflect the broadest diversity possible of AWS members, and should be comprised of a maximum twelve (12) members balanced between each stakeholder group. A member’s stakeholder group is defined by their core mission as an organisation (public, private, or civil society) as defined by the AWS Member Approval Process.

Members of the Technical Committee serve for a maximum term of three years with one third retiring on a rotational basis at each AGM.

There are no prescribed qualifications for Technical Committee membership, but the membership should reflect a broad range of expertise relevant to water stewardship, standards development, implementation and management.

The Technical Committee Terms of Reference give further information on their role and responsibilities.

AWS members wishing to bring a matter onto the Technical Committee agenda should complete the Intake Form and submit to AWS using the instructions contained therein.

Technical Committee Members

Anthony Slatyer (Public Sector), Brad Moggridge (Civil Society), John Etgen (Civil Society), Laura Kowalski (Private Sector), Mickael Clement (Private Sector), Oliver Maennicke (Private Sector), Faith Lawrence (Public Sector), Sharon Pfleger (Public Sector), Sophie Ngoyen Khoa Man (Civil Society), Mark McDermid (Public Sector) and Romit Sen (Civil Society).